Alberta Canada English Featured News Updates Politics

Danielle Smith UCP’s new leader and Alberta’s next premier. “No longer we will ask permission from Ottawa to be prosperous and free”

Danielle Smith is the UCP’s new leader and Alberta’s next premier. After a night of delays – the vote counts came hard – she won on the sixth and final ballot, defeating her closest challenger Travis Toews, former minister under outgoing UCP leader and premier, Jason Kenney: the result was 53.77 per cent of the votes to her and 46.23 per cent to Toews. Brian Jean, Rebecca Schulz, Todd Loewen, Rajan Sawhney and Leela Aheer were all eliminated in earlier rounds. 

Smith said the night marked the beginning of a new chapter for Alberta. “It is time for Alberta to take its place as a senior partner in building a strong and unified Canada,” she said. “No longer will Alberta ask permission from Ottawa to be prosperous and free. We will not have our voices silenced or censored. We will not be told what we must put in our bodies in order that we may work or travel. Albertans, not Ottawa, will chart our own destiny on our terms, and will work with our fellow Canadians to build the most free and prosperous country on earth.

She also thanked her fellow candidates, “for their commitment to our party, but also to democracy,” and said she looked forward to working with many of them. She also thanked Kenney, saying he has fought for Albertans for decades in various capacities.

Then, she wrote on Twitter: “Today we start putting Alberta First!!! Alberta, thank you for the trust you have placed in me. I am incredibly honoured to be your Premier and will work hard everyday to serve you. Our best days are ahead”.

In the pic, Danielle Smith (from her Twitter profile

Leave a Reply ***This project is made possible in part thanks to the financial support of Canadian Heritage;

“The content of this project represents the opinions of the authors and does not necessarily represent the policies or the views of the Department of Heritage or of the Government of Canada”